A partial listing of awards.

We're proud of them all.

Great Lakes Bookseller Association Award

Cooperative Children's Book Center Awards

International Reading Association Teacher's Choice Award

Bank Street College of Education--Best Book of the Year List

Alabama Camellia Nominee Children's Choice Award

New York State Reading Association Awards

Winner, Michigan Reading Association Reader's Choice Award

Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards

Read Michigan Selection Awards

Michigan Notable Book Awards

Midwest Booksellers Association Awards

International Reading Association Children's Choice Award

Rutgers University Book of the Month Award

Minnesota Book Award Finalist

Children's Crown Gallery Awards

#1 Amazon Bestselling Category Book Award

Storytelling Awards--Stories for Adolescent Listeners Category, Winner

National Book Festivals State Selection Award


Quick Facts:

Both The Legend of Sleeping Bear and The Legend of Mackinac Island were developed into animated stories for television, and both were narrated by actor Jeff Daniels.


Kathy-jo was the first Michigan writer with the distinction of having two books designated to the Read Michigan Notable Book List in the same year.


Along with her husband, photographer Ed Wargin, they have the distinction of being the first married couple to first have a joint book and later separate books on the Michigan Notable Book List in the same year.


Her first children's book, The Legend of Sleeping Bear, is Michigan's Official State Children's Book.